Resolve to Read the Book!

Resolve to Read the Book!God’s bestseller through the ages!
So many books, so little time!
I have a friend who once prided herself on being well-read. While that certainly is commendable, one day the Holy Spirit spoke to her and said,
“What are you going to do about My Book?”
Since I heard this encouragement from this friend (whom I consider my mentor), I try to make a priority of reading “the Book” each day. The Word of God is like no other book. It perpetually remains a bestseller. In it we find answers to the most difficult problems of life. These answers do not come from men, but from the Holy Spirit as He inspired men to write them. The Apostle Peter called it “the more sure word of prophecy” in II Peter 1:19 in which we “do well” to take heed to.
In doing this, it serves me well as I listen to men preach the Word of God. I do not have to just accept what I hear as gospel truth, but test it against what I have read in the Book.
I just read yesterday this verse from Solomon, the wisest man on earth:
“It is the glory of God to conceal a thing:
But the honor of kings is to search out a matter.” Proverbs 25: 2

I can be like a king and search out the matter! And it all starts with just reading the Book.
And so, as this New Year starts, I ask, would anyone would like to join me?

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, Bible instruction, devotional, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Resolve to Read the Book!

  1. Megan, I found your blog! Love this one especially. I TOTALLY agree.
    Great meeting you at St. David’s this week. Let’s keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

